The “N” word and Paula Deen – From The Books of Mark

I don’t know Paula Deen personally. What I do know is that I’m guilty of prejudice. I’ve said stuff. I don’t have enough money to be in the spot light (and now that’s I’ve made this Facebook statement and several others will probably never will be) so my job and livelihood won’t be in jeopardy. Truett/Dan Cathy Owner of Chick-fil-A has a prejudice which he voiced fairly loud in a written statement but he hasn’t lost his livelihood.

How many of us go to Home Depot to hire Latino day laborers and pay them much less to do a job that we know would cost thousands of dollars to have done. They aren’t certified yet we trust them to put on a roof to save a few bucks. Sounds like racism to me but no one is squawking about that? Racism is defined as

rac·ism

/ˈreɪsɪzəm/ Show Spelled [rey-siz-uhm] Show IPA

noun

1. a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human races determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one’s own race is superior and has the right to rule others.

2. a policy, system of government, etc., based upon or fostering such a doctrine; discrimination.

3. hatred or intolerance of another race or other races.


Origin:  1865–70;  < French racisme.  See race2 , -ism

What about Snoop and Biggie and Tu-Pac and a majority of the rap community? Should they too be banned from selling their product w/ explicit lyrics at Wal-Mart or BET for using the “N” word? Why is it celebrated in one community and shunned in another? It should be shunned  and unacceptable in both. The word brings bad feelings and memories so no one should be allowed to use it. I find it very hypocritical. Changing how it ends is also irrelevant. Changing the “ER” to “A”, taking off the “ER” and adding “GGA”, taking off the last 3 letters and just leaving 1 “G” or taking of the “GGER” and/or replacing it w/ ZZLE doesn’t change the fact that the word intended on being used is just hateful.

Is the difference b/c there is no malice intended? BULL! IF we are going to make an example out of Paula Deen then everyone in the public eye who has used any racially derogatory statements or used racial slurs should lose their endorsement. I find it hypocritical that Wal-Mart (of all companies) would pull back on Paula Deen but they can’t offer their employees more than minimum wage or insurance? Wal-Mart is far from a company of moral standing and steady moral compass. I believe the woman when she says she is sorry and this has weighed heavy on your heart. It doesn’t excuse her actions but the woman shouldn’t be condemned.

Jessie Swinton, my mother’s mother, told me once that she didn’t want her neighbors to see white people stopping by her house. She also said to me in a car accident, and I told her that my friend Ryan and I were ok, BEFORE she asked how I was her response was and I quote, “Well what was that WHITE GIRL doing in the car anyway?” She didn’t use any derogatory words but the hate is still there.

I say again if Paula is gonna be made an example of then let’s make an example of all public figures who use or has ever used the “N” word. I would like to start w/ the Rap/Hip-Hop community #pauladeen

1 Comment

Filed under In the news

One response to “The “N” word and Paula Deen – From The Books of Mark

  1. I looked sideways when I read Walmart dropped her. Pot, meet kettle.

Leave a Reply

